You are enough, even when you are not.

First, a random late night thought…

I have run in to people who do not believe in the uniqueness of individuals. The thinking is that so many people have lived already, that there is nothing you can do, think, or experience that hasn’t already been done, thought of, or experienced by someone before you. Therefore, no one that now lives, or will ever live, is unique.

I both agree and disagree. I agree that individual thoughts, actions and experiences, are unlikely to be yours and yours alone in all of time. However, the combination of all that you have thought and done, the thousands upon thousands of individual moments that make your personal mentality and history. I believe those as a whole, are solely yours. Making you one of a kind.

Now onto something more important…

Sometimes, I don’t feel like I have much to offer the people in my life, and even less to offer as a general member of society. I’m a genetic mistake. I live with an illness that kept me from attending college or getting a job, and most likely will continue to do so for the remainder of my life. I have to be financially, and physically cared for, and it is most costly to those I love. There are those who believe that if you look at the big picture, people who are such a burden to society do not have the right to exist.

Accepting that I am enough, has been hard at times. I may not be able to work, but something I am really good at is love. I don’t mean the hollywood kind of love. I mean that I care about people, deeply. I wish the best for most everyone, and I rejoice in their success and have a heavy heart when they struggle. I also enjoying learning. So something I can offer to those around me is moral support and what knowledge I have managed to acquire. I may not have as many answers as “Siri”, but I actually care about who you are, what you have to say, and where you want to go in life.

Which leads me to my final thought. Sometimes, you know what you want to do with your life, and you give every effort %100, to achieve your goal, and yet you still haven’t achieved what you set out to do. A simple example would be, lets say you want to live healthier, and you have specific goals to achieve that. You want to cut out fast food, do yoga and walk 10,000 steps daily. Sounds doable.

Sometimes, life is not as easy in action as in theory though. You have a desk job with long hours, so your are not walking very much. Kids want your attention at home, and you can’t seem to fit yoga in, and being on the go so much with work and the kids extra curricular activities, means the drive through is a regular part of life. By the time you have given your all at work, and given your all as a parent, you don’t know how you are going to find the energy to make the changes necessary to meet your goals. You try and fail again and again. That is ok. You know what else is ok. Asking for help. Maybe a friend could come over and help get you set up with easy, healthy meals you can grab on the go. Maybe you need an accountability partner for yoga. Maybe you need some advice for ways to add steps into your day, even with your desk job, or maybe you need to try something other than 10,000 steps.

It is ok, when your all is not enough. It’s ok to look to others for help and guidance. That old saying “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.” holds wisdom.  It doesn’t mean you have to try the same thing, the same way, again and again, it just says to keep trying. Don’t give up. Oh, and don’t forget that no matter what… you are enough.

Leave a Reply

